VALN — Valneva SE
Company context · prepared 2026-08-11 · company sweep 2026-08-11 · USD · framework v5.6.1
How to read this. Written for a reader who has not studied pharmacology or finance. General terms are defined once in
framework/04-glossary.md. Tags:[VERIFIED — source]/[UNVERIFIED]/[WEB ESTIMATE — source, date].Program analyses for this company are the sub-folders listed in C.2.
Currency note. Valneva is a French company. It reports its accounts in euros (EUR), and its Nasdaq quote is in US dollars (USD). Every euro figure below is given as the company filed it and then converted at EUR/USD 1.1542, the 2026-08-11 close
[VERIFIED — Yahoo Finance chart API, EURUSD=X, read 2026-08-11]. The rate is stated once here so that any figure below can be re-derived. Converting a 2026-03-31 balance at a 2026-08-11 rate is an approximation, and it is labelled as one wherever it matters.Share-class note. One Nasdaq-listed American Depositary Share (ADS, the US-traded certificate that stands for shares in a foreign company) represents two Valneva ordinary shares
[VERIFIED — Valneva IPO and follow-on offering prospectuses, SEC Form 424B4 2021 and subsequent offerings, read 2026-08-11]. Every per-share price in this document is a per-ADS price, because that is what the $5.30 quote and the price cache are. Every share count is in ordinary shares unless it says ADS-equivalent. Getting this backwards doubles or halves the market capitalisation, so it is stated before any number that depends on it.
C.0 Company-tier coverage — CLEARED
| Tool | State | Note / verbatim error |
|---|---|---|
BPIQ fetch_company_info | CALLED | Returned on the first attempt. Price $5.30, market cap 541,234,112, enterprise value 653,446,927, cash 105,265,000, finance_updated_at 2026-03-31. The currency of the cash and enterprise-value fields is not stated by the connector and matches the company’s euro disclosure, not dollars — see C.8. |
BPIQ fetch_company_drugs | CALLED | Seven rows, first attempt. Two carry has_catalyst: true (13398 VLA15; 18578 S4V2). Every row is in C.2. |
BPIQ fetch_company_historical_catalysts | CALLED | Fourteen rows, first attempt, 2021-08-05 to 2025-12-10. The feed omits the two largest price reactions this equity has produced — see C.7 and C.8. |
BPIQ fetch_company_options_data | CALLED | Returned an empty result on all three attempts (immediate retry, then a retry after a pause). This is a legitimate empty, not a failure: an independent Yahoo Finance options-chain call returned expirationDates: [] and strikes: [] for VALN, confirming that no exchange-listed options exist on this ticker at all. See C.6. |
BPIQ fetch_company_insider_transactions | CALLED | Returned an empty result on all three attempts. This is a legitimate empty: Valneva is a foreign private issuer, whose officers and directors are exempt from US Section 16 insider reporting. The EDGAR filing feed confirms it — Valneva’s entire filing history contains no Form 3, Form 4 or Form 5. See C.5. |
BPIQ fetch_company_press_releases | CALLED | 265 items, date_updated 2026-08-11, covering 2018-01-02 to 2026-08-08. Read in full from the saved overflow file. |
BPIQ fetch_company_hedge_fund_holdings (optional) | NOT CALLED | Optional row. fetch_company_info reports one hedge-fund holder and 3.6% institutional ownership of the US line, and the material holders are disclosed through French regulatory declarations rather than 13F filings, so a 13F pull would have answered less than the press feed already did. Optional rows do not gate the sweep. |
BPIQ fetch_company_earnings_transcript (optional) | NOT CALLED | Optional row. The two transcript items in the press feed (Q1 2026 call, 2026-05-14; FY2025 call, 2026-08-08) were read through the feed and the primary release instead. Optional rows do not gate the sweep. |
EDGAR submissions | CALLED | CIK 0001836564, first attempt, declared User-Agent. 24 filings since 2026-01-01: 197 Form 6-K in the window, plus 20-F, F-3, 424B3, EFFECT, Schedule 13D/A and 13G. No Form 3, 4 or 5 anywhere — the cross-check that makes the empty insider connector a real finding. |
EDGAR XBRL companyconcept (dei:EntityCommonStockSharesOutstanding) | CALLED | First attempt. Filed ordinary-share count 173,539,745 at 2025-12-31 (Form 20-F filed 2026-03-17). Superseded by the company’s own 2026-07-31 declaration of 189,771,237 — see C.3 and C.4. |
FINRA consolidatedShortInterest | CALLED | POST, first attempt. Newest published settlement 2026-07-15: 165,539 shares short, days-to-cover 6.06, average daily volume 27,309. The 2026-07-31 settlement is not yet published, which is ordinary publication lag, not a missing ticker. |
| Yahoo options chain (optional) | CALLED | Crumb dance required a second attempt after a Too Many Requests response on the first. Returned expirationDates: [], strikes: [], regularMarketPrice 5.30, financialCurrency “EUR”, fiftyTwoWeekRange “4.75 - 12.25”. Confirms both the empty BPIQ options row and the price-cache 52-week range. |
Verdict: CLEARED. Every mandatory company-tier row was called and returned. Two rows returned empty results that a naive reading would take for silent failures; both were independently cross-checked and both are real findings about this company rather than gaps in the sweep.
C.1 What the company is
Valneva SE is a French vaccine company based in Saint-Herblain, near Nantes. It is not a
single-asset biotech: it already sells three approved vaccines and had product sales of €157.9
million (about $182.2 million) in 2025 [VERIFIED — Valneva FY2025 results release, 2026-03-18].
Those products are IXIARO (against Japanese encephalitis, a mosquito-borne brain infection), DUKORAL
(an oral vaccine against cholera and travellers’ diarrhoea) and IXCHIQ (against chikungunya, a
mosquito-borne viral disease).
Alongside that commercial base it runs a development pipeline of seven BPIQ-recorded programs, of which two currently carry a disclosed upcoming catalyst: VLA15 (a Lyme disease vaccine, partnered with Pfizer and now branded LB6V) and S4V2 (a vaccine against shigellosis, a severe bacterial diarrhoea, partnered with LimmaTech Biologics).
The company is under visible commercial stress. In 2026 it cut its product-revenue guidance from
€145–160 million to €135–150 million, launched a restructuring to remove 10–15% of its global
workforce and 25–35% of operating expenses versus 2025, and withdrew its US licence applications for
IXCHIQ after the FDA suspended that vaccine’s US licence
[VERIFIED — Valneva Q1 2026 results release, 2026-05-13; Valneva release 2026-01-19]. The shares
sit at $5.30, which is 7.3% of the way up a 52-week range whose top is $12.25.
C.2 Pipeline — every program
Every row returned by fetch_company_drugs on 2026-08-11, including the discontinued one. Catalyst
dates are reported as catalyst_date_text; the “to a day?” column is yes only where that text names
a day (01-rules.md rule 23). Six of the seven rows read “TBA”, which BPIQ stores as a null date.
| Program (drug — indication) | bpiq_drug_id | Stage & event | Catalyst (as disclosed) | Date to a day? | Analysed? | Materiality to the stock |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IXCHIQ (VLA1553) — chikungunya, infectious disease | 14913 | Approved · quarterly sales | TBA | no | no | Meaningful, but as revenue rather than as a catalyst. has_catalyst is false. IXCHIQ sales were €8.4M in 2025 and €1.6M in Q1 2026 — a small and shrinking share of the €157.9M product base after the US licence suspension, the voluntary BLA/IND withdrawal and the elderly-use restrictions in the EU and UK. |
| IXCHIQ (VLA1553) — chikungunya, viral infection (VLA1553-321 adolescent trial) | 17789 | Phase 3 · update | TBA | no | no | Immaterial. has_catalyst false. Adolescent label extensions are filed in Europe and Canada; the US route is closed while the IND is on clinical hold. A label extension on a product selling €8.4M a year cannot move a $503M equity. |
| VLA15 (LB6V) — Lyme disease, bacterial infection | 13398 | Phase 3 · update | TBA | no | no | Dominant. has_catalyst true, but with no disclosed date at all. This is the asset the equity trades on: the VALOR Phase 3 read out above 70% efficacy on 2026-03-23 and the shares fell 37.1% that day (C.7). Pfizer runs the regulatory submissions and pays Valneva tiered royalties of 14–22% plus up to $100M of sales milestones [WEB ESTIMATE — Pfizer and Valneva collaboration-amendment releases, June 2022, read 2026-08-11]. Not analysed here: no catalyst date is disclosed, so nothing is schedulable against it. |
| IXCHIQ (VLA1553) — chikungunya, viral infection (VLA1553-221 paediatric trial) | 17961 | Phase 3 · initiation | TBA | no | no | Immaterial. has_catalyst false. The paediatric Phase 3 start is explicitly delayed pending adolescent experience, and the underlying product’s US route is closed. |
| Shigella4V2 (S4V2) — prevention of shigellosis | 18578 | Phase 2 · data readout | Mid-2026 | no | yes — s4v2-shigellosis/ | Meaningful, not dominant. has_catalyst true. Valneva itself puts the global market for a Shigella vaccine at “in excess of $500 million annually” — real, but a fraction of the Lyme opportunity, a decade from launch, owed low-double-digit royalties to LimmaTech, and with the Phase 3 unfunded. A binary Phase 2 result on it is a genuine event for this equity and is not the equity’s main determinant. |
| VLA1601 — Zika virus, viral infection | 17775 | Phase 1 · update | TBA | no | no | Immaterial. has_catalyst false. The company states it will only advance VLA1601 if external funding appears. An asset the sponsor will not fund is worth approximately its option value and no more. |
| VLA2001 — COVID-19, infectious disease | 13974 | Failed · discontinued | TBA | no | no | Immaterial, and retained as track record. has_catalyst false. Manufacturing suspended, no further COVID activity anticipated. Kept in this table because a company that has shut a program down has a record, and this one wrote off a vaccine that had a UK supply contract terminated in 2021. |
Two rows carry a catalyst; only one carries a date. VLA15 (13398) has has_catalyst: true with a
null catalyst_date and catalyst_date_text “TBA”. That has a direct consequence for the S4V2
analysis: the catalyst-clustering computation cannot see a row with no date, so VLA15 does not enter
the conflict set, and S4V2’s attribution reads CLEAN for a mechanical reason rather than because
nothing else can land near it. This is stated again in the program document and in C.8.
C.3 Financial position
| Item | Value | As of | Tag |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash and equivalents | €105.3M (≈ $121.5M), plus €37.0M (≈ $42.7M) of gross proceeds received in May 2026 from the April reserved offering — €142.3M ≈ $164.3M combined | Cash balance 2026-03-31; offering proceeds received 2026-05-05 | [VERIFIED — Valneva Q1 2026 results release, 2026-05-13; Valneva release 2026-04-30] |
| Burn (per month) | Recomputed: ≈ €1.5M / $1.7M per month. Cash fell from €109.7M at 2025-12-31 to €105.3M at 2026-03-31, which is €4.4M over the quarter | Q1 2026 | [VERIFIED — Valneva FY2025 and Q1 2026 releases] — but see the note below on why this figure understates the research spend |
| Runway as the company states it | Not stated. Valneva publishes no runway date and made no going-concern statement. BPIQ’s cash_runway_end_date for this ticker is the sentinel value 2109-02-11, which means “no date”, not “83 years” | 2026-08-11 | [VERIFIED — absence checked against the Q1 2026 release, the FY2025 release and the BPIQ screener field] |
| Runway recomputed (cash ÷ burn) | Not a meaningful figure for this company, and deliberately not quoted. Dividing $164.3M by $1.7M/month gives about eight years, which is an artifact: Valneva sells €135–150M of product a year, so its cash movement is dominated by working capital and the seasonal travel-vaccine cycle, not by a research burn rate. The honest statement is that cash is not the binding constraint before the S4V2 catalyst | 2026-08-11 | [UNVERIFIED — modelled; the inputs are verified, the division is not informative] |
| Debt | $215M drawn on a facility of up to $500M from Pharmakon Advisors, LP, maturing Q4 2030. The draw repaid in full the previous Deerfield Management and OrbiMed facility, whose maturity was Q1 2026 | Drawn 2025-10-06 | [VERIFIED — Valneva release 2025-10-06] |
Why the recomputed burn understates research spend. Valneva spent €15.2M on research and
development in Q1 2026 alone [VERIFIED — Q1 2026 results release], roughly €5.1M a month, against a
€1.5M/month net cash decline. The difference is product gross margin funding most of the research.
This matters for the S4V2 read: the readout does not sit in front of a financing cliff the way a
pre-revenue biotech’s would.
BPIQ’s burn fields disagree with each other and with both figures above. The connector reports
ttm_burn −18,860,000, qtr_burn −313,000 and monthly_burn −104,333. A trailing-twelve-month burn
of 18.86M implies 1.57M a month, not 0.104M; and a quarterly burn of 0.313M is inconsistent with a
€4.4M quarterly cash decline. None of the three is used above. See C.8.
Dilution history. Every equity raise and every registration in the last 24 months, plus the debt refinancing that sits alongside them.
| Date | Instrument | Gross proceeds | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-03-26 | At-the-market (ATM) sales agreement renewed — a standing facility to sell shares into the open market over time | Capacity, not proceeds | Market | [VERIFIED — Valneva release 2025-03-26] |
| 2025-10-06 | Pharmakon Advisors debt facility, up to $500M, $215M drawn (debt, not equity — no shares issued) | $215M | n/a | [VERIFIED — Valneva release 2025-10-06] |
| 2026-04-29 / 2026-04-30 | Reserved offering (a private placement to named investors) of 15,893,817 new ordinary shares, each bundled with one warrant. Headline size €84M, of which €37.0M in cash at closing and up to €47M more only if every warrant is exercised | €37.0M cash (≈ $42.7M); up to €84M including warrants | €2.33 per ordinary share = €4.66 per ADS ≈ $5.38 per ADS | [VERIFIED — Valneva release 2026-04-30; Valneva Q1 2026 results release 2026-05-13; SEC Form 6-K 2026-05-01] |
| 2026-06-04 | Form F-3 shelf registration covering 31.8M ordinary shares and the attached warrants | Registration only | — | [VERIFIED — EDGAR, Form F-3 filed 2026-06-04] |
| 2026-06-16 | Form 424B3 resale prospectus for 31.6M ordinary shares, declared effective the same day | Registration only | — | [VERIFIED — EDGAR, Form 424B3 and EFFECT, both 2026-06-16] |
The June registrations are not new dilution on top of April’s. 15,893,817 placement shares plus
15,893,817 warrant shares is 31,787,634 — which is the 31.6–31.8M being registered. The F-3 and the
424B3 make the April placement’s shares and warrant shares freely resellable; they do not create a
second tranche. Reading them as a fresh 17% overhang on top of the April raise would double-count
the same shares. [VERIFIED — arithmetic over the 2026-04-30 release and the two EDGAR filings]
The warrants are the dilution mechanism to watch, and they are tied to Lyme, not to Shigella.
Each warrant is exercisable at €2.96 per ordinary share (€5.92 per ADS ≈ $6.83 per ADS) and
becomes exercisable on FDA approval of the LB6V Lyme disease vaccine candidate, running to a March
2028 backstop [VERIFIED — Valneva release 2026-04-30; SEC Form 6-K 2026-05-01]. Two consequences.
First, $6.83 per ADS is a live, contractual level at which roughly 7.9M ADS-equivalents of new stock
appears — a real cap on any rally that reaches it. Second, the trigger is a Lyme approval, so
the S4V2 readout does not fire it.
Is a raise likely before the S4V2 catalyst? No. The company raised €37M in cash three months ago from eight named institutional investors, holds about $164M of cash, sells €135–150M of product a year, and has just cut a quarter to a third of its operating expenses. The ATM remains open and could be tapped opportunistically, but nothing forces a raise into this readout.
Share count, reconciled. 173,539,745 ordinary shares at 2025-12-31 [VERIFIED — EDGAR XBRL dei:EntityCommonStockSharesOutstanding, Form 20-F filed 2026-03-17] plus the 15,893,817 placement
shares gives 189,433,562, against the company’s declared 189,771,237 ordinary shares at
2026-07-31 [VERIFIED — Valneva shares-and-voting-rights declaration, 2026-08-05]. The 337,675-share
remainder is ordinary option and ATM activity. Total voting rights are 204,363,556, higher than the
share count because French law grants double voting rights to long-held registered shares; voting
rights are not a share count and are not used as one anywhere below.
C.4 Valuation frame
| Item | Value | Source / tag |
|---|---|---|
| Share price (spot) | $5.30 per ADS | [VERIFIED — data/prices/VALN.json close for 2026-08-10, the cache's most recent bar; BPIQ fetch_company_info last_price5.30 read 2026-08-11; YahooregularMarketPrice 5.30 read 2026-08-11 — three sources agree] |
| Market capitalisation | Derived: ≈ $502.9M. 189,771,237 ordinary shares ÷ 2 = 94,885,619 ADS-equivalents × $5.30 | [VERIFIED — derived from the 2026-07-31 share declaration, the 1 ADS : 2 ordinary ratio and the cache close]. BPIQ reports 541,234,112, which is 7.6% higher and implies about 102.1M units — see C.8 |
| Enterprise value | Derived: ≈ $553.6M. $502.9M equity + $215M Pharmakon debt − $164.3M cash | [UNVERIFIED — modelled from the verified components in C.3; the cash leg converts a 2026-03-31 euro balance at a 2026-08-11 rate]. BPIQ reports 653,446,927 — see C.8 |
| 52-week high / low | $12.25 / $4.75 | [VERIFIED — derived from data/prices/VALN.json with lib/prices.mjs range52w, as of 2026-08-11; independently corroborated by Yahoo's own fiftyTwoWeekRange "4.75 - 12.25"] |
| Position in the 52-week range, computed off the last price | 7.3% — (5.30 − 4.75) ÷ (12.25 − 4.75) | [VERIFIED — lib/prices.mjs positionInRange, off the cache's own 2026-08-10 close]. BPIQ’s max_52_week_position field reads 0.07333 and happens to agree here only because the previous close equals the last price today |
| Multiple off the 52-week low | 1.12× | [VERIFIED — 5.30 ÷ 4.75, same cache] |
Plain reading. The shares are within 12% of their 52-week low and 57% below their 52-week high. Almost the whole decline is dated: the stock closed at $10.32 on 2026-03-20 and $6.49 on 2026-03-23, the session the Lyme Phase 3 result was published (C.7). The market is not pricing much optimism into anything at this level, which is the single most important fact for how a Shigella surprise would be received.
Liquidity. Average dollar volume on the Nasdaq line over the last 60 trading days is about
$152,000 a day [VERIFIED — computed from data/prices/VALN.json]. That is extraordinarily thin
for a company of this size, and it is an artifact of the dual listing: Valneva’s primary market is
Euronext Paris, and the Nasdaq ADS line carries a small minority of the volume. Any statement below
that depends on liquidity says which line it is talking about.
C.5 Ownership and flow
| Holder type | Share | Note | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Insider | 0.0% reported | Not a finding. As a foreign private issuer Valneva’s officers and directors do not file US Form 3/4/5, so the connector has nothing to report. Directors do hold shares; the amounts are disclosed in the French registration document, not in EDGAR | [VERIFIED — BPIQ insider_own 0.00000; EDGAR filing history contains no Form 3, 4 or 5] |
| Institutional | 3.62% reported | This is US-registered institutional ownership of the ADS line only and materially understates the real figure — Pfizer alone took 8.1% of the share capital in 2022, and the April 2026 placement was led by Frazier Life Sciences with TCGX, Deep Track, Cormorant, Perceptive, Vivo, Samsara and Nantahala alongside | [VERIFIED — BPIQ tute_own 0.03619] for the figure; [WEB ESTIMATE — Pfizer/Valneva equity subscription release, June 2022, and the 2026-04-30 offering release, read 2026-08-11] for the holders |
| Retail / other | Remainder | Not separately measurable from the connectors called | [UNVERIFIED] |
| Short interest | 165,539 shares short on the US consolidated line at the 2026-07-15 settlement; days-to-cover 6.06 against average daily volume of 27,309 shares | Against 94,885,619 ADS-equivalents that is 0.17%; against all 189,771,237 ordinary shares it is 0.087%. Either way the US short position is trivially small. Separately, D.E. Shaw disclosed a net short position in Valneva on 2026-07-18 through the French disclosure regime, which the US figure does not capture | [VERIFIED — FINRA consolidatedShortInterest, settlement 2026-07-15, read 2026-08-11]; [VERIFIED — press feed item 2026-07-18] |
Insider and holder flow, in plain sentences. There is no open-market insider buying or selling to
read, because the reporting obligation that would produce it does not apply to this issuer. What
exists instead is the April 2026 placement, and it is more informative than a Form 4 would have
been: eight named specialist healthcare funds, several of them new to the register, bought
15,893,817 new shares at €2.33 each — about $5.38 per ADS-equivalent, within 2% of today’s
$5.30. That is a large, recent, arm’s-length institutional clearing price for this equity, struck
after the Lyme Phase 3 collapse and before this readout, and it is used as a scenario anchor in the
program document. On the other side, the French state investment vehicles adjusted their stakes in
March 2026 and D.E. Shaw is disclosed net short. BPIQ’s short_float field reads 0.00224; its units
are unconfirmed per 02-connectors.md, but read as 0.224% it sits in the same range as the FINRA
figure derived above, so the two do not contradict each other.
C.6 Options chain and its readability
Plain takeaway: there is no options chain. Valneva has no exchange-listed options at all, so the chain cannot price this event, cannot bracket it, and cannot be quoted at any precision. This is not a thin chain or an artifact-ridden one — it is an empty one, confirmed twice.
| Item | Value | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Spot | $5.30 | Cache close 2026-08-10; BPIQ and Yahoo both read 5.30 on 2026-08-11 |
| Nearest listed strike to spot | None — no strikes are listed | Yahoo returned strikes: [] |
| Expiry nearest the next catalyst | None — no expiries are listed | Yahoo returned expirationDates: [] |
| At-the-money straddle ÷ spot | Not computable | No strikes, so no straddle |
| Front implied volatility | Not computable | No contracts to read it from |
| Open interest at that strike | Not computable | No strikes |
| Liquidity confidence | None | Two independent sources agree the chain is empty: BPIQ returned an empty result on three attempts, and the Yahoo chain returned zero expiries and zero strikes |
The consequence for the program document is stated there rather than assumed: the expected move around the S4V2 readout is estimated from this ticker’s own past catalyst reactions (C.7), never from an options-implied move, because no such number exists.
C.7 Reaction to past catalysts
Moves are computed from data/prices/VALN.json and given two ways, because they differ and the
difference is informative: close-to-close (previous session’s close to this session’s close, which
captures a gap opening) and open-to-close (the intraday move, which is what BPIQ’s
intra_day_price_change_percent reports). Every row is cross-checked against the same-day press
feed.
| Date | Event | Intraday move | Same-day press-feed check | Read |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-03-23 | VALOR Phase 3 Lyme disease topline: VLA15/LB6V showed >70% efficacy in people aged five and above | −37.11% close-to-close ($10.32 → $6.49); −4.14% open-to-close; volume 771,300 against a 60-day average near 25,000 | ”Valneva and Pfizer Report Strong Phase 3 Efficacy for Lyme Disease Vaccine Candidate” (2026-03-23). No offering, no layoff, no other release that day | The most important row in this table. Genuinely positive Phase 3 data on the dominant asset, and the equity lost more than a third of its value in one session, almost all of it in the opening gap. The market had priced a higher efficacy bar. A “positive result” on this ticker is not automatically a positive share reaction. This event is absent from BPIQ’s historical-catalyst feed. |
| 2025-08-25 | FDA suspends the US licence of IXCHIQ | −18.99% close-to-close ($11.64 → $9.43); +3.40% open-to-close; volume 349,800 | ”Valneva Announces FDA’s Decision to Suspend License of Chikungunya Vaccine IXCHIQ in the U.S.” (2025-08-25), followed within weeks by shareholder-suit investigation notices | A regulatory shock to the revenue base, not to the pipeline. The gap down was the whole move; the session itself recovered 3.4% off the open. Also absent from BPIQ’s historical-catalyst feed. |
| 2025-11-26 | VLA15 Phase 2 final booster results (VLA15-221): strong anamnestic response at month 48, no DMC safety concerns | +9.15% close-to-close ($8.74 → $9.54); +9.40% open-to-close | Same day: “Valneva to Further Consolidate its Operations in France” — a site closure removing 30 roles. A bundled announcement | The largest single-session gain in this table, and it happened on a day that also carried a restructuring announcement. A positive Lyme datapoint outweighed a cost-cutting one. BPIQ’s intra_day_price_change_percent of 0.09404 matches the cache exactly |
| 2025-12-10 | IXCHIQ paediatric Phase 2 final 12-month persistence and safety data (VLA1553-221), 304 children | +3.02% close-to-close; −0.22% open-to-close | ”Valneva Reports Positive Final Phase 2 Antibody Persistence and Safety Results in Children” (2025-12-10). No other material item | Positive data on a product whose US route is shut moved the stock 3% overnight and nothing intraday. BPIQ’s −0.00225 matches the open-to-close figure |
| 2026-01-20 | Valneva withdraws its US BLA and IND for IXCHIQ after the FDA clinical hold | −2.98% close-to-close; +1.56% open-to-close | Four separate items across 2026-01-19/20/21 covering the withdrawal | The bad news was already in the price from August 2025. A formal capitulation on the US chikungunya route cost 3% |
| 2025-11-04 | VLA1601 second-generation Zika Phase 1 results reported positive | +0.33% close-to-close; −1.41% open-to-close | ”Valneva Reports Positive Results for Phase 1 Trial of Second-Generation Zika Vaccine Candidate” (2025-11-04) | A positive Phase 1 on an asset the company will only advance with outside money moved nothing. BPIQ reports +2.66% for this row, which the cache contradicts — see C.8 |
| 2025-09-03 | VLA15 Phase 3 VALOR topline first reported, BLA/MAA planned for 2026 | +1.68% close-to-close; −0.79% open-to-close | ”Valneva Reports Further Positive Phase 2 Safety and Immunogenicity Results for Lyme Disease Vaccine Candidate” (2025-09-03) | BPIQ reports +3.85%, which the cache contradicts, and BPIQ’s own row carries news_published_at 2025-11-04 against a catalyst_date of 2025-09-03 — a two-month internal inconsistency. See C.8 |
What this table says about how this equity trades a readout. Three patterns hold across every row. The move happens in the opening gap, not during the session, so an intraday figure systematically understates it. Positive data is not sufficient — the largest move in the table is a 37% fall on a successful Phase 3. And magnitude tracks materiality: the dominant asset produced −37%, the revenue base produced −19%, and everything else produced single digits.
C.8 Company data-quality flags
- BPIQ’s historical-catalyst feed omits the two largest price reactions this equity has produced. Neither the 2026-03-23 Lyme Phase 3 topline (−37.11%) nor the 2025-08-25 FDA licence suspension (−18.99%) appears in the fourteen rows returned. Both were recovered from the press feed and priced from the committed cache instead. Any analysis that built C.7 from the catalyst feed alone would conclude that this stock’s worst catalyst reaction was about −3%.
- BPIQ’s
intra_day_price_change_percentdisagrees with the price cache on two of the five rows that could be checked. 2025-11-04 (BPIQ +2.66% against the cache’s −1.41% open-to-close) and 2025-09-03 (BPIQ +3.85% against −0.79%). The other three match the cache’s open-to-close figure to the basis point, so the field’s definition is right and its values are not uniformly reliable. The 2025-09-03 row also carriesnews_published_at2025-11-04 againstcatalyst_date2025-09-03. Every figure in C.7 is the cache’s, not BPIQ’s. - BPIQ’s
market_capcannot be reconciled with the filed share count. 541,234,112 ÷ $5.30 implies about 102.1M units, against 189,771,237 ordinary shares (94,885,619 ADS-equivalents). The difference is 7.6% and its cause is not established: it is close to, but not equal to, half the total voting-rights figure of 204,363,556. C.4 therefore derives market capitalisation from the filed share count and the confirmed 1:2 ADS ratio rather than reading the field. The known previous-close bug in02-connectors.mddoes not bite today, because the previous close and the last price are both 5.30. - BPIQ’s cash and enterprise-value fields appear to carry euro amounts without a currency
label.
cashis 105,265,000 against the company’s disclosed **€**105.3 million. Treating that as dollars would overstate US-dollar cash by about 15%. Every figure in C.3 and C.4 states its currency and its conversion rate. - BPIQ’s three burn fields are mutually inconsistent (
ttm_burn−18,860,000,qtr_burn−313,000,monthly_burn−104,333: the first implies 1.57M a month, the third says 0.104M). None is used; C.3 recomputes the burn from the two disclosed cash balances and says plainly why even that figure is not a research burn rate. cash_runway_end_dateis a sentinel, not a date. BPIQ carries 2109-02-11 for this ticker, which means the field is unset. It is reported as “no date”, never as an 83-year runway.fetch_company_options_dataandfetch_company_insider_transactionsboth return empty results, and in this case both are true. Neither is the silent-failure pattern02-connectors.mdrecords for the insider connector on TLSA. VALN has no listed options (Yahoo chain confirms zero expiries and zero strikes) and, as a foreign private issuer, no Section 16 filings exist to report (EDGAR filing history confirms no Form 3, 4 or 5). Both were retried per the retry policy before being recorded.tute_ownof 3.62% understates institutional ownership by a wide margin, because it measures US-registered holdings of the ADS line while the register is dominated by European holders and by Pfizer’s 2022 stake. It is quoted in C.5 with that limit stated rather than used as a float input.- The pipeline’s second
has_catalystrow carries no date. VLA15 (13398) readscatalyst_date: null,catalyst_date_text: "TBA". Becauselib/clustering.mjsderives no window from a row with no date, VLA15 cannot enter the catalyst-clustering conflict set, and S4V2’s attribution status ofCLEANtherefore rests on an absence of data rather than on a measured separation. Pfizer’s Lyme regulatory submissions are expected during 2026 and could land inside the S4V2 readout window. The program document states this in its own attribution section and in its stock-direction call rather than presentingCLEANat face value. - The April 2026 offering is reported at two different sizes by two sources, and both are right. The 2026-04-30 release headlines €84 million; the Q1 2026 results release says €37.0 million of gross proceeds. The reconciliation is that €37.0M is cash at closing and up to €47M more arrives only if every warrant is exercised. Both figures are carried in C.3, neither is averaged, and the headline figure is never used as cash received.